1 comentario

Jordan Reyne – London (“Bedlam Boys” & “Silver Dagger”)

London, from Jordan Reyne, is a beautiful song that collages two folk songs: Bedlam Boys & Silver Dagger.

A bit more about this two songs:

BEDLAM BOYS (Tom of Bedlam) – English folk song lyrics

For to see my Tom of Bedlam, 10,000 miles I’d travel
Mad Maudlin goes on dirty toes, to save her shoes from gravel.

Still I sing bonnie boys, bonnie mad boys,
Bedlam boys are bonnie
For they all go bare and they live by the air,
And they want no drink nor money.
I went down to Satin’s kitchen, for to beg me food one morning
There I got souls piping hot, all on the spit a turning.
There I picked up a cauldron, Where boiled 10,000 harlots
Though full of flame I drank the same, to the health of all such varlets.
My staff has murdered giants, my bag a long knife carries
For to cut mince pies from children’s thighs, with which to feed the fairies.
Spirits white as lightning, shall on my travels guide me
The moon would quake and the stars would shake, when’ ere they espied me.
No gypsy slut nor doxy, shall win my Mad Tom from me
I’ll weep all night, the stars I’ll fight, the fray will well become me.
It’s when next I have murdered, the Man-In-The-Moon to powder
His staff I’ll break, his dog I’ll bake, they’ll howl no demon louder.
So drink to Tom of Bedlam, he’ll fill the seas in barrels
I’ll drink it all, all brewed with gall, with Mad Maudlin I will travel.

Background story: “Tom of Bedlam” is one of the earliest songs about madness that was first introduced in 1618. Bedlam was a common name for St. Mary Bethlehem hospital in London (now called Bethlem Royal Hospital) which housed the insane. During the 18th century it was a popular diversion to visit the hospital to watch the antics of the poor inmates. Admission was one penny and it is said the hospital realized an income of four hundred pounds a year from visitors.

vía BEDLAM BOYS (Tom of Bedlam) – English Folk Song, Lyrics, Free MP3s, Sheet Music, Chords.

SILVER DAGGER – American folk song lyrics

In “Silver Dagger”, the narrator turns away a potential suitor, as her mother has warned her to avoid the advances of men in an attempt to spare her daughter the heartbreak that she herself has endured.

“Silver Dagger” as sung by Joan Baez

Don’t sing love songs; you’ll wake my mother
She’s sleeping here, right by my side
And in her right hand, a silver dagger
She says that I can’t be your bride.

All men are false, says my mother
They’ll tell you wicked, lovin’ lies
The very next evening, they’ll court another
Leave you alone to pine and sigh.

My daddy is a handsome devil
He’s got a chain five miles long
And on every link a heart does dangle
Of another maid he’s loved and wronged.

Go court another tender maiden
And hope that she will be your wife
For I’ve been warned and I’ve decided
To sleep alone all of my life.

vía wikipedia.

Un comentario el “Jordan Reyne – London (“Bedlam Boys” & “Silver Dagger”)

  1. […] Jordan Reyne – London (“Bedlam Boys” & “Silver Dagger”) (nokeinthecloud.wordpress.com) […]

Responder

Sought After Blood Lines

Fantasy & Romance Book | Excerpts & Teasers Galore!

MadPea Productions

MadPea Games, Design & Events

Pale Girl Productions

An SL™ event production company

Tartiste

Style and Art with a Twist

Paradoxical

Ferocious style for Second Life

Be Cunning and Full of Tricks

Exploring Knowledge Management, Online Communities and Virtual Worlds

Fantasy Fashions

Stylin' since 2009

The Night Theater

A bit of Magic let loose in SL...

Fantasy Faire 2017

A RFL of SL Event

Stories by Williams

Classic sci-fi books, reviews, and the best of from a dedicated fan and author!

Red Lotus Flower

Bloom, even in a muddy pond

Cait's World

Life, love and other adventures in Second Life

Mona Eberhardt

Living Virtually

Inara Pey: Living in a Modem World

Second Life, virtual worlds and virtual reality

